To whom it may concern,

I am currently a 1st year student of Biology in the National University of Ireland, Maynooth. During my studies we have talked alot about viruses. One thing which troubles me is the question, are viruses alive? In my opinion they are, i feel that many biologists will not accept that they are as the whole definition of LIFE would have to be changed, however the definition of life has changed many times over the past few centuries, why can't it again? I would really like to hear your opinion on this!

Jason Mc Dermott

The problem with viruses is that they don't have essential enzymes that allow them to self-replicate. They need to infect other organisms and use their enzymes. So it isn't really a self-sustaining living organism.

However, I do see your point about the possibility of viruses being alive. Their sole purpose is to reproduce, much as other living organisms and that seems to me very much like life.

I think the problem here is where to draw the line. Is a virus alive when they're reproducing (i.e. with the help of enzymes in other organisms), but not alive when they're dormant? Is it possible to have a part-time living organism?

On the other hand do we really need to draw the line?

As we understand phylogeny and evolution better, it is becoming increasingly difficult to separate individual groups from another. For instance, dinosaurs and birds. There isn't a clear cut separation of birds from dinosaurs because we now know that some dinosaurs had many characters that we previously thought was bird specific.

Unfortunately, we live in a classification world and we do need to draw the line somewhere. It may change in the future when we understand the history of viruses better.

Does that mean that I (and all other obligately sexual organisms) am (are) not alive, since I (they) cannot self-replicate without using another organism?

Last edited by Paolo Viscardi (17th May 2007 07:51:04)