Hello! I am an artist working on a new video game whose principle character is an apatosaurus. In my consultation of sources, I have come across a great deal of variation and so want to let the scientific community add its two cents. You can look at images of the character so far at this link.

Based on what is there now, I have a few main questions:

1. This was based primarily on Apatosaurus ajax:
http://6ixsetstudios.com/drop/apatosaurus/apat_skel1.jpg
I have another image from The Scientific American Book of Dinosaurs (Ed. Paul, Gregory S., 2000) with a much thicker overall build, longer neural spines, and a more elevated neck position:
http://6ixsetstudios.com/drop/apatosaurus/apat_skel2.jpg.
Since this one is, comparatively, less clearly labeled than the other (i.e. where it is coming from), I opted for the former. Can anyone identify the specimen in the Paul book and attest to its accuracy?

2. The skeleton has about as much detail as I can afford based on the technical limitations of what we are doing, but I can make some minor adjustments without too much trouble. In the game, the skeleton appears in a sort of x-ray view rather than as a solid shaded object. I want to make sure, however, that my geometry is accurate enough for the level of detail we can support. The main things I had difficulty finding good reference for were:
* the shape of the cervical vertebrae
* bone markings (i.e. tuberosities, etc.) on the humerus and femur
* the orientation and proportions of the radius/ulna and tibia/fibula pairs (i.e. which is medial/lateral, how they should be rotated in this position, etc.)
* imagery of how the knees and elbows more generally ought to articulate (i.e. should there by epicondyles, an olecranon process, a patella, etc. like on a human)