Hi, this is a "what if" question so the answers to this would only be theory...and it's kind of an odd question. And multiple part.
I'm asking it because I'm a science fiction writer. I need some help on the science part of my idea.

One of the species, physically very similar to humans, is unisex. And by that I mean they are all hermaphrodites and there is no male/female sex. Gender has played a big part in shaping human evolution (as far as I know), so how would humans have evolved differently if we were unisex as well, but still reproduced together (not asexually), so we still have good genetic variation?
Would we have remained simple organisms, or would we still have eventually used tools and fire and language? Why/why not? How differently do you think young would be raised?

And last question, is there any species that exhibits these characteristics (the ability to impregnate and become impregnated)? Because if so they would be exemplary for me to study and help me in building the culture and biology of my fictional species. I've only heard of sexual (male/female) and asexual organisms.

Hey Nathan

Before going straight into the question of how would human evolution be different if we were not under the "laws of sex" as we know them, it is important to clarify some terms you are using to avoid confusion:

Unisex, which can also be referred to as gonochorism (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unisexual), means that each individual of a species only displays characteristics typical of one sex. As such, we (humans) and a vast majority of familiar animals, are unisex, because sex organs are normally present in different individuals (except in cases in which mutations cause hermaphroditism).

Hermaphrodite  applies when the same individual is able to produce gametes (reproductive cells) from two different sexes. Considering this, if humans were naturally hermaphrodites, we would be simultaneously female and male rather than unisex.