Hi!

This seems like perhaps the wrong place to ask this, but maybe asking on a site directed towards school children would give me a more clear, basic answer. This is a laboratory technique question.

I am a molecular biology tech, as of 2 weeks ago. I have spent less than ten days doing these techniques, and I am concerned about one thing in particular that I'd like to "nip in the bud" as soon as I can. After doing a few minipreps and subsequent restriction digests, my gels have shown what looks like gradually more and more supercoiled and nicked plasmid, gradually less linearized plasmid, and none of the desired insert.

I was wondering if high amounts of supercoiled and nicked plasmid is a sign of bad technique during the miniprep or is it a problem from something previous/upstream like the ligation or the transformation?

Thank you,

Frustrated Tech

PS. I have attached pictures of some of my gels, in chronological order. The dates are in the file name. As you can see, they get uglier and uglier. Note: the negative control is the first sample on the bottom row next to the ladder/size marker.

Post's pictures

digestion8-11-11.jpg, 13.49 kb, 406 x 506

restdigFIV-8-25-11_2.jpg, 21.75 kb, 293 x 381

restrictiondig8-12-11-2.jpg, 13.35 kb, 329 x 431

I wouldn't worry about the ligation/transformation as being the source of your problems. If you were able to get colonies on a selective plate, your plasmid is intact. Are the sample shown freshly generated plasmids, or are they the same sample? It looks like you might have some nucleases contaminating your minipreps, which could explain the multiple bands in the negative of your latest gel. If your restriction digests are also not working properly, that strongly suggests a DNA purity problem.

Without details of your methods, I can't really give you any specifics on what might be going wrong, but check your miniprep protocol and ask some more experienced lab-mates for some help.

I can suggest a few general things;